Strawberry Point Lutheran Home Community receives national award for quality care

Prestigious award represents commitment to health and well-being
of Iowa’s aging population, according to the Iowa Health Care Association.

Des Moines, IA – The Iowa Health Care Association (IHCA) has announced that 32 long term and post-acute care members across Iowa – including Strawberry Point Lutheran Home Community  – have been recognized with a 2018 Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) for their dedication to quality care. The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program honors providers throughout the country that have demonstrated their commitment to delivering quality care for seniors and persons with disabilities.

“IHCA member nursing facilities and assisted living programs continue to demonstrate remarkable commitment to quality improvement with the recognition of these 32 providers for their achievement of the Bronze Award,” said Mary Jane Carothers, IHCA VP, Quality Improvement & Clinical Affairs. “Quality improvement within these organizations is the direct result of staff dedication and innovative team engagement and collaboration that leads to quality of life and quality of care for the Iowans whose care is entrusted to them.” 

Only three states – California, Florida and Texas – had more Bronze Award recipients than Iowa in 2018. A total of 177 IHCA member nursing facilities and assisted living programs have earned the Bronze Award to date.  

The 2018 Iowa Bronze Award recipients are:

  • Accura Healthcare of Pleasantville, Pleasantville
  • Accura Healthcare of Sioux City, Sioux City
  • Chariton Specialty Care, Chariton
  • Char-Mac Assisted Living of Holstein
  • Cherokee Specialty Care, Cherokee
  • Corning Specialty Care, Corning
  • Creston Specialty Care, Creston
  • Dubuque Specialty Care, Dubuque
  • Dunlap Assisted Living, Dunlap
  • Ennoble Skilled Nursing and Rehab, Dubuque
  • Heartland Care Center, Marcus
  • Lenox Care Center, Lenox
  • Linn Haven Rehab and Healthcare, New Hampton
  • Longhouse-Northshire, LTD, Spencer
  • Manly Specialty Care, Manly
  • Mechanicsville Specialty Care, Mechanicsville
  • Monticello Nursing and Rehabilitation Campus, Monticello
  • Plymouth Manor Care Center, Le Mars
  • Ravenwood Specialty Care, Waterloo
  • Regency Care Center, Norwalk
  • Regency Park of Carroll, Carroll
  • Rotary Senior Living, Eagle Grove
  • Strawberry Point Lutheran Home Community, Strawberry Point
  • Sunny Knoll Care Centre, Rockwell City
  • The Fountains Assisted Living, Bettendorf
  • The Heritage at Fox Run Assisted Living, Council Bluffs
  • Thomas Rest Haven and Park View Assisted Living, Coon Rapids
  • Valley Lodge Assisted Living, Correctionville
  • Wapello Specialty Care, Wapello
  • West Bend Health and Rehab, West Bend
  • Westwood Specialty Care, Sioux City
  • Silvercrest at Woodlands Creek, Clive


“This is an exciting and well deserved honor for the employees, families and volunteers of the Strawberry Point Lutheran Home Community.  No group of individuals have worked harder to ensure that those that call the Strawberry Point Lutheran Home Community “home” receive the highest quality of care, delivered with care, compassion, and respect.   It is fitting that this National award recognizes their efforts. I have no doubt that this award will be the first of many.” Cheri Leachman, NHA

The National Quality Award Program, implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The National Quality Award program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving the application of continuous quality improvement.

The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement journey at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with essential performance elements such as vision and mission statements and an assessment of customers’ expectations. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained Examiners review each Bronze application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. Recipients of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award.

The awards will be presented during AHCA/NCAL’s 69th Annual Convention and Exposition in San Diego, California, October 7-10, 2018.




The Iowa Health Care Association (IHCA) and its divisions, the Iowa Center for Assisted Living (ICAL) and the Iowa Center for Home Care (ICHC), serve the long term services and supports profession as a nonprofit trade association. IHCA serves 775 member organizations (nonprofit, proprietary and government-owned) that span the continuum of long term services and supports. Our members include nursing and rehabilitation facilities, assisted living programs, home health care providers, residential care facilities and senior independent living communities. In addition, we have 130 associate business members who actively support the association and its members.

The American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) represent more than 13,600 non-profit and proprietary skilled nursing centers, assisted living communities, sub-acute centers and homes for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. By delivering solutions for quality care, AHCA/NCAL aims to improve the lives of the millions of frail, elderly and individuals with disabilities who receive long term or post-acute care in our member facilities each day. For more information, please visit or

Comments are closed.